Utomhus ansiktsporträtt av leende Anna Sjöström Douagi

Photo: Erik Thor/SUA

About Anna and SUA

Anna Sjöström Douagi was the founder and CEO during the first five years when the Young Academy of Sweden was established as a platform for younger researchers to meet and act in society. Anna's commitment to promoting science and research transferred to the young academy and is still an important part of the Academy’s activities. Under Sjöström Douagi's leadership, a constructive and dynamic spirit was established that permeates the Young Academy of Sweden to this day.

Anna Sjöström Douagi began her career aiming to become a musician, as a transverse flautist. However, her passion for science grew and led her to study biochemistry at Stockholm University and the University of Copenhagen for her undergraduate studies. She then did her doctorate in immunology at Karolinska Institutet followed by a postdoctoral fellowship in the USA. Planning to continue her career in science after her first parental leave, in between she applied for a position as Research secretary at the Swedish Research Council (VR) with responsibility for international affairs and contact with the European Research Council, ERC, and EuroHORCs (European Heads of Research Councils). Here Anna discovered another drive of hers, to connect science and society, and she remained at the Swedish Research Council. There she met Gunnar Öquist, then Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (RSAS), and they discussed how young researchers could be given better opportunities to contribute, meet among themselves across disciplinary boundaries, have transparent career paths and have a voice to be able to share their perspective.

In 2010 Anna was commissioned to build a young academy. In May 2011, the first 22 members were elected and the Young Academy of Sweden was born. Anna linked Nobel Laureate Torsten Wiesel (Physiology or Medicine 1981) to the Young Academy of Sweden, whom she met working at VR. Wiesel, who had long been engaged in promoting young researchers in several contexts, was now appointed, together with Gunnar Öquist, Scientific patron and mentor for the young academy members.

In 2013, another milestone was achieved when the Young Academy of Sweden was able to part from the mother academy RSAS and become an independent organization, also this process was guided by Anna who was now appointed CEO of the young academy. In 2016, the Young Academy of Sweden launched two new awards, the L'Oréal Unesco For Women in Science Prize in Sweden and the Torsten Wiesel Midnight Sun Award – For Distinguished Achievement in Promoting Science, initiatives that made significant contributions to the academy's aim to open the door bring science and research to society and vice versa, to attract new audiences into the research world. The same year, Anna was recruited for the job of developing content around the Nobel Prize and today she holds the position of Vice President Strategic Initiatives at The Nobel Foundation.

In 2017, Anna and Christian Broberger (chair 2012–2012) were awarded the Ordre des Palmes académiques award, a national order bestowed by the French Republic on distinguished academics and teachers for valuable service to universities, education and science. Anna has also been a member of the jury for the Natur & Kultur Popular Science Prize since 2017, as well as a member of the Falling Walls Foundation's international jury. She is also chairperson of the board of Teach for Sweden.


In brief

Born: 1972
Interests: Scientific reports, music, travel, spending time with family.
Other: before starting her studies in medicine Anna was heading for a career in music as a flutist

Most people I know worry unnecessarily. Not me. I rejoice unnecessarily. I think that's more fun. (Kristina Lugn)

Sveriges Unga Akademi

The founding of YAS

Gunnar Öquist and Anna Sjöström Douagi at the founding of the Young Academy of Sweden in 2011. Photo: Markus Marcetic/YAS

Sveriges Unga Akademi

Stefan Claesson (Vice President), Staffan Normark (Permanent Secretary), Helene Andersson Svahn (Founder and first Chairperson of YAS) and Anna Sjöström Douagi at the inauguration ceremony of the Young Academy of Sweden. Photo: Markus Marcetic/YAS


Anna welcomes everyone when the Foundation for the Young Academy of Sweden is formed on October 24, 2013. Photo: Magnus Bergström.


The first award ceremony of the L'Oréal-Unesco For Women in Science Prize with the support of the Young Academy of Sweden 2016, from left: Amaury Alibaux (Sweden Manager of L'Oréal), Inger Davidsson (Chair of the Swedish UNESCO Council), Anna Sjöström Douagi, Annica Black-Schaffer (awardee), Kristiina Tammimies (awardee), Helen Hellmark Knutsson (Minister of Higher Education and Research), and Kristian Pietras (Chair of YAS). Photo: Emma Burendahl


Torsten Wiesel, Anna Sjöström Douagi, and Torsten Wiesel Laureate David Saltzberg. Photo: Erik Thor/YAS


Anna introduces the Torsten Wiesel Midnight Sun Award 2016. Photo: SUA


Vägar till vetenskapen
Anna Sjöström Douagi
Christer Nordlund
Torsten Wiesel

Roads to Science

This website uses cookies

Cookies ("cookies") consist of small text files. The text files contain data which is stored on your device. To be able to place some type of cookies we need your consent. We at Foundation for Swedens young academy, corporate identity number 802477-9483 use these types of cookies. To read more about which cookies we use and storage duration, click here to get to our cookiepolicy.

Manage your cookie-settings

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies are cookies that need to be placed for fundamental functions on the website to work. Fundamental functions are for instance cookies that are needed for you to use menus and navigate the website.

Statistical cookies

To know how you interact with the website we place cookies to collect statistics. These cookies anonymize personal data.

Personalization cookies

In order to provide a better experiance we place cookies for your preferances