Young Academy of Sweden together with several international young academies and associations of young researchers has signed a petition to the Future Earth initiative to highlight the importance of engaging a new generation of researchers. The letter includes seven steps to promote the involvement of young researchers.

Future Earth logo
Beatrice Crona

The petition, titled with a question: “A Future Earth for Future
Generations?”, is addressed to the Future Earth Governing Council,
Science and Engagement Committee. Among the suggestions is the advice to
allocate core funding for the involvement of young researchers; to make
it an explicit goal to have young scientist organizations represented
at all the Future Earth events; and to recruit a team of skilled young
Future Earth ambassadors to communicate Future Earth to the broader
community. Academy member Beatrice Crona, Associate Professor at the Stockholm Resilience Center, has coordinated the Young Academy of Swedens’s engagement in the petition.

Future Earth is a new 10-year international research initiative that will develop the knowledge for responding effectively to the risks and opportunities of global environmental change and for supporting transformation towards global sustainability in the coming decades. Future Earth will mobilize thousands of scientists while strengthening partnerships with policy-makers and other stakeholders to provide sustainability options and solutions in the wake of Rio+20.

The International Network of Next-Generation Ecologists,

Global Young Academy (GYA)

Young Academy of Sweden

South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS)

Liberian Young Association for the Advancement of Science (LYAAS)

Sri Lankan Academy of Young Scientists (SLAYS)

National Academy of Young Scientists Pakistan (NAYS)

Zimbabwe Young Academy of Science (ZIMYAS)

Young Scientists Network – Academy of Sciences Malaysia

Working Group “Sustainability” of Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (Stefanie Hiß, Alexander Danzer, Tobias J. Erb, Anke Jentsch, Silja Klepp, Alexander Knohl, Tobias Kuemmerle, Regina Palkovits, Martin Wilmking, Robert Wolf, Jadwiga R. Ziolkowska)

More information

Future Earth

Dela artikel

Denna webbplats använder cookies

Cookies ("kakor") består av små textfiler. Dessa innehåller data som lagras på din enhet. För att kunna placera vissa typer av cookies behöver vi inhämta ditt samtycke. Vi på Stiftelsen för Sveriges unga akademi, orgnr. 802477-9483 använder oss av följande slags cookies. För att läsa mer om vilka cookies vi använder och lagringstid, klicka här för att komma till vår cookiepolicy.

Hantera dina cookieinställningar

Nödvändiga cookies

Nödvändiga cookies är cookies som måste placeras för att grundläggande funktioner på webbplatsen ska kunna fungera. Grundläggande funktioner är exempelvis cookies som behövs för att du ska kunna använda menyer och navigera på sajten.

Cookies för statistik

För att kunna veta hur du interagerar med webbplatsen placerar vi cookies för att föra statistik. Dessa cookies anonymiserar personuppgifter.

Cookies för personlig anpassning

För att ge dig en bättre upplevelse placerar vi cookies för dina preferenser