The Young Academy of Sweden is an independent forum for younger, leading researchers representing all research disciplines. The membership period is limited to five years, which makes up the rejuvenation elixir. On May 25, eight new members were welcomed, from Karolinska Institutet, the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm University, Umeå University and Uppsala University.

Nya ledamöter 2019 Foto: Sveriges unga akademi

From the left: Anna Wetterbom (CEO), Magnus Jonsson (Chair 2019–2020),Ylva Söderfeldt, Johan Rockberg, Ewa Machotka, Anna T. Danielsson, Christian Ohm and Maria Tenje (Chair 2018–2019). Click to zoom. Photo: Young Academy of Sweden

Nya ledamöter 2019

Top row, from the left: Frida Bender (photo: Eva Dalin), Ronnie Berntsson (photo: Josy ter Beek), Anna T. Danielsson (photo: Mikael Wallerstedt), Petter Brodin (photo: Ulf Sirborn). Bottom row, from the left: Ewa Machotka(foto: Magnus Kardal), Johan Rockberg (photo: Rasmus Bengtsson), Ylva Söderfeldt (photo: David Naylor), Christian Ohm (photo: Asin Delawi) Click to zoom.


FRIDA BENDER, Associate Professor in Meteorology at Stockholm University

RONNIE BERNTSSON, Associate Senior Lecturer in Medical Chemistry and Biophysics at Umeå University

PETTER BRODIN, Associate Professor in Immunology at Karolinska Institutet

ANNA T. DANIELSSON, Professor of Curriculum Studies at Uppsala University

EWA MACHOTKA, Associate Professor of Japanese Language and Culture at Stockholm University

CHRISTIAN OHM, Researcher in Experimental Particle Physics at the Royal Institute of Technology

JOHAN ROCKBERG, Associate Professor and Senior Lecturer in Molecular Biotechnology and Directed Evolution at the Royal Institute of Technology

YLVA SÖDERFELDT, Associate Senior Lecturer in History of Science and Ideas at Uppsala University

Magnus Jonsson Foto: Erik Thor/SUA

- The election of new members is among the most important and most enjoyable things we do. The members are the academy itself and we put a lot of effort and care into the process, Magnus Jonsson, Associate Professor of Organic Electronics at Linköping University, who is the Academy's appointed Chair for 2019–2020.

The Young Academy of Sweden has established itself as a strong voice in the higher education sector. The limited term of office means that the members feel it is important to take advantage of the platform, which further increases the commitment. Concrete proposals for clear career paths for researchers and a university tour with career seminars (eight so far) are examples of successful recipes, as is the continuous work for gender equality.

The members meet across discipline and university borders to learn from each other and create activities together. They engage a lot in outreach activities and want to broaden the idea of who can be a researcher. Through activities such as summer school and short film festivals for young people, openings are created to talk about knowledge. Also regarding research policy issues, the academy is driven and often early out with workshops and debate articles to improve the conditions for research, for example the upcoming research bill, gender equality in the sector, open science, and the current government appointed investigation about management/steering and resource allocation to universities (Strut-utredningen).

Magnus Jonsson, Chair,, 070-089 62 31
Annika Moberg, Head of Communications,, 070-325 32 18


This website uses cookies

Cookies ("cookies") consist of small text files. The text files contain data which is stored on your device. To be able to place some type of cookies we need your consent. We at Foundation for Swedens young academy, corporate identity number 802477-9483 use these types of cookies. To read more about which cookies we use and storage duration, click here to get to our cookiepolicy.

Manage your cookie-settings

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies are cookies that need to be placed for fundamental functions on the website to work. Fundamental functions are for instance cookies that are needed for you to use menus and navigate the website.

Statistical cookies

To know how you interact with the website we place cookies to collect statistics. These cookies anonymize personal data.

Personalization cookies

In order to provide a better experiance we place cookies for your preferances
Nya ledamöter 2019