Young Academy of Sweden together with several international young academies and associations of young researchers has signed a petition to the Future Earth initiative to highlight the importance of engaging a new generation of researchers. The letter includes seven steps to promote the involvement of young researchers.

Future Earth logo
Beatrice Crona

The petition, titled with a question: “A Future Earth for Future
Generations?”, is addressed to the Future Earth Governing Council,
Science and Engagement Committee. Among the suggestions is the advice to
allocate core funding for the involvement of young researchers; to make
it an explicit goal to have young scientist organizations represented
at all the Future Earth events; and to recruit a team of skilled young
Future Earth ambassadors to communicate Future Earth to the broader
community. Academy member Beatrice Crona, Associate Professor at the Stockholm Resilience Center, has coordinated the Young Academy of Swedens’s engagement in the petition.

Future Earth is a new 10-year international research initiative that will develop the knowledge for responding effectively to the risks and opportunities of global environmental change and for supporting transformation towards global sustainability in the coming decades. Future Earth will mobilize thousands of scientists while strengthening partnerships with policy-makers and other stakeholders to provide sustainability options and solutions in the wake of Rio+20.

The International Network of Next-Generation Ecologists,

Global Young Academy (GYA)

Young Academy of Sweden

South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS)

Liberian Young Association for the Advancement of Science (LYAAS)

Sri Lankan Academy of Young Scientists (SLAYS)

National Academy of Young Scientists Pakistan (NAYS)

Zimbabwe Young Academy of Science (ZIMYAS)

Young Scientists Network – Academy of Sciences Malaysia

Working Group “Sustainability” of Die Junge Akademie at the Berlin Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (Stefanie Hiß, Alexander Danzer, Tobias J. Erb, Anke Jentsch, Silja Klepp, Alexander Knohl, Tobias Kuemmerle, Regina Palkovits, Martin Wilmking, Robert Wolf, Jadwiga R. Ziolkowska)

More information

Future Earth


This website uses cookies

Cookies ("cookies") consist of small text files. The text files contain data which is stored on your device. To be able to place some type of cookies we need your consent. We at Foundation for Swedens young academy, corporate identity number 802477-9483 use these types of cookies. To read more about which cookies we use and storage duration, click here to get to our cookiepolicy.

Manage your cookie-settings

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies are cookies that need to be placed for fundamental functions on the website to work. Fundamental functions are for instance cookies that are needed for you to use menus and navigate the website.

Statistical cookies

To know how you interact with the website we place cookies to collect statistics. These cookies anonymize personal data.

Personalization cookies

In order to provide a better experiance we place cookies for your preferances